Go Nuts Over The Newest P-Pop Girl Group BINI

Courtesy of Star Hunt Academy

Posted at November 06, 2020

Star Hunt Academy’s highly-anticipated rookie girl group BINI hopes to contribute to the #PPopRise movement with their pre-debut single "Da Coconut Nut"!

Back in 2018, Star Hunt Academy (SHA) searched the nation for fresh talent to mold into world-class idols. From an initial roster of 250 aspirants, the hopefuls whittled down to the final 5 boys and 8 girls to be part of this special program. After more than 1 year of training, the SHA trainee girls are finally evolving into their girl group form, BINI.

Hailing from different parts of the country, these binibinis represent homegrown talent and our culture of heart and passion. BINI consists of sweet yet fierce girls Aiah, Colet, Gwen, Maloi, Stacey, Jhoanna, Mikha, and Sheena.

BINI's pre-debut single is an electro-pop remake of the timeless classic "Da Coconut Nut" which was composed by National Artist Ryan Cayabyab. The song was originally popularized by teen group Smokey Mountain in 1991.

While it was not an obvious choice, the global recognition and covers that "Da Coconut Nut" garnered on YouTube showed that it was worth a remake—a challenge that SHA’s Korean partners MU Doctor received well. MU Doctor worked with Korean musical producer VO3E, transforming the novelty song into a fresh, upbeat, and danceable banger. Seasoned Korean dance coaches Moon Yeon Joo and Kwan Seong Chan, who have worked with big names such as BTS, Twice, Red Velvet, and Seventeen, helped with the choreography.

BINI's "Da Coconut Nut" music video debuts on YouTube on November 20. In the meantime, check out the lyric video below:

Courtesy: Bini TV

How do you feel about this?

Happy 56%
Sad 4%
Laugh 10%
Shock 4%
Angry 5%


WIN: Tickets To DUA LIPA's “Studio 2054” Exclusive Online Performance


WIN: Tickets To DUA LIPA's “Studio 2054” Exclusive Online Performance


Vote for your favorite music video here!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA
and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

You must be logged-in to vote.