ARTICLES

Pinoy Viral Cover Of SAM SMITH Hit Impresses International Celebrities

MYX Philippines

Posted at February 09, 2020


Grammy-winning singer Sam Smith, who has adapted gender-neutral pronouns they/them, recently shared the viral video of the young Filipino student singing their 2017 hit "Too Good At Goodbyes" to their millions of followers on social media.

The boy has since been identified as former Tawag Ng Tanghalan contestant Carlmalone Montecido, the "Blind Balladeer of Bacolod" from the first season of the reality singing competition in 2017.

And thanks to Smith, their social media posts have given an even bigger audience to witness the Filipino singer's impressive rendition. Followed by some of the biggest artists around the world, Montecido's cover has drawn reactions from several other popular celebrities.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A post shared by Kelly Clarkson (@kellyclarkson) on

The Voice coach Kelly Clarkson was among the first ones to reply to Sam's tweet saying, "This video has been going around my team as well! This kid is insane!!"

The Masked Singer judge Nicole Scherzinger of The Pussycat Dolls commented on Sam's Instagram post saying, "Omg he is EVERYTHING babe!!!♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️and he can saaaamg 🎤🎶♥️♥️."

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A post shared by Nicole Scherzinger (@nicolescherzinger) on

The Vamps' James McVey was in awe and could only say, "Jesus Christ 🔥" while rapper Ty Dolla Sign busted out six more fire emojis to express his amazement.

Niall Horan of One Direction also gave his stamp of approval commenting, "Wowwwwww !!! Amazing" on Smith's video post while Bebe Rexha had "goosebumps."

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A post shared by Niall Horan (@niallhoran) on

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A post shared by Bebe Rexha (@beberexha) on

Actors Luke Evans (from Fast & Furious 6 and Beauty and the Beast) and Ncuti Gatwa (from Netflix's Sex Education) were also among those impressed by the cover. "Excuse the bloodclart out of me 👏🏾👏🏾🙌🏾," the latter said.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A post shared by Luke Evans (@thereallukeevans) on

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A post shared by Ncuti Gatwa (@ncutigatwa) on

Little Mix collaborator and songwriter Kamille gave a bit more technical take, commenting on Montecido's tone and saying it was "nuts."

Check out more reactions from all over the world on Sam Smith's Instagram post which now has 2.1 million views and 713k likes, just 11 hours since its upload:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A post shared by Sam Smith (@samsmith) on

How do you feel about this?

Happy 87%
Sad 1%
Laugh 1%
Shock 5%
Angry 2%

Connect

WIN: Tickets To JOJI PRESENTS: The Extravaganza

PROMO

WIN: Tickets To JOJI PRESENTS: The Extravaganza

ONLINE VOTE

Vote for your favorite music video here!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA
and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

You must be logged-in to vote.