PhilPop 2018 Top 10 Revealed!

Renuel Fallore

Posted at October 20, 2018

The PhilPop 2018 Top 10 finalists were announced during the Pinoy Playlist music festival last October 18! MYX VJ Ai hosted the said event as the 30 semifinalists were whittled down to just 10 based on the following criteria: 50% Judges' choice, 25% Online streaming, and 25% People Choice through SMS and Twitter.

Paolo and Miguel Guico of Ben&Ben, whose song "Tinatangi" was a PhilPop 2016 finalist, gave a short yet inspiring speech to everyone who took part in the prestigious songwriting competition this year.

Here are the Top 10 PhilPop 2018 entries which will advance to the finals in December: 

"Pilipit" composed by Sean Gabriel Cedro and John Ray Reodique, interpreted by Julian Trono

"Isang Gabing Pag-Ibig" composed by Carlo Angelo David, interpreted by Jex de Castro

"Nanay Tatay" composed and interpreted by Chud Festejo

"Tama Na" composed by Michael Rodriguez and Jeanne Columbine Rodriguez, interpreted by Katrina Velarde

"Loco De Amor!" composed by Ed Miraflor Jr, interpreted by BennyBunnyBand

"Ako Ako" composed by Jeriko Buenafe, interpreted by Feel Day feat. Hans Dimayuga

"Di Ko Man" composed and interpreted by Ferdinand Aragon

"Kariton" composed by Philip Arvin Jarilla, interpreted by Acapellago

"Laon Ako" composed by Elmar BolaƱo and Donel Trasporto Tigbauan, interpreted by Kakai Bautista (Our MYX Celebrity VJ for October got teary eyed after the announcement.)

'Yun Tayo" composed by Donnalyn Onilongo, interpreted by Gracenote

This year's finalists represent different musical styles: contemporary, folk, Latin-flavored pop, R&B/soul, rock, and easy listening. Hopefully, these envelope-pushing compositions will penetrate the local music market and create a lasting impression on the Filipino audience.

How do you feel about this?

Happy 100%
Sad 0%
Laugh 0%
Shock 0%
Angry 0%


WIN: FREE INVITES To The Special Screening Of "CATS"


WIN: FREE INVITES To The Special Screening Of "CATS"


Vote for your favorite music video here!

You must be logged-in to vote.