RYAN CAYABYAB Will Receive Ramon Magsaysay Award

Karen Jane Ng
Posted at August 03, 2019

MYX Magna awardee Ryan Cayabyab adds another major achievement to his bio as one of the winners of the 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award!

The National Artist for Music joins four other recipients of the prestigious prize including Kim Jong-ki of South Korea, Ravish Kumar of India, Angkhana Neelapaijit of Thailand, and Ko Swe Win of Myanmar.

The organization's board of trustees deemed Mr. C worthy of the honor for "his compositions and performances that have defined and inspired Filipino popular music across generations; his indomitable, undeterred confidence to selflessly seek, mentor and promote young Filipino musical genius for the global stage; and his showing us all that music can indeed instill pride and joy, and unify people across the many barriers that divide them."

Watch Regine Velasquez-Alcasid, Jed Madela, Geneva Cruz, The Company and Basil Valdez perform some of the Maestro's classic compositions during the MYX Music Awards 2012:

Copyright 2020 ABS-CBN Corporation.
All Rights Reserved.

About Careers Privacy Terms Contact Us Advertise With Us